MSU-IIT wins IBCI Inter-Industry Badminton Tournament

MSU-IIT wins IBCI Inter-Industry Badminton Tournament

by Maria Theresa B. Panzo

The men and women’s badminton teams of MSU-IIT beat their respective opponents on Saturday night, February 21, to capture the 2014 Iligan Bay Chamber of Industries, Inc. (IBCI) Inter-Industry badminton title held at the Ramiro Sports and Event Center.

The men’s team outdid PLDT 2-1 to win its first championship trophy while the women’s team successfully defended its title as it blanked Lafarge 3-0.

“It was the first time for the men’s team to reach the Big 4 and even win the tournament,” said Prof. Oliver Capilitan, the team captain of the men’s team.

“I am very thankful to my teammates for their support and willingness to participate and play for the Institute,” he added.

The tournament started on December 6, 2014 and culminated in Saturday’s finals night. The double round robin system was used with every company fielding three doubles teams. At the end of the elimination round, four teams with the highest points accumulated proceeded to the Big 4. The winners then went on to compete for the finals, while the two other teams fought for third place.

Both teams from the Institute came out on top of the elimination round, most notably the women’s team which went on to the finals without dropping a set in all its games.

Participating teams include MSU-IIT, PLDT, ILPI, Petronas, Mapalad, and Lafarge.

Dr. Cesar Miguel, the Institute Director of the Sports Development Office (SDO) and the team manager, was delighted on the double victory of the teams.

“I’m very happy about our team. Despite our difficulty to join the tournament, we still managed to win,” he said. Miguel is also the chairman of IBCI Sports Committee.

He also revealed that the badminton tournament was part of the IBCI annual sports program which includes basketball, aquatic disaster preparedness, and bowling.

The Institute bowling team was also the first runner-up in their event which was played between Oct. 10, 2014-Nov. 15, 2015.

In a courtesy call to the Office of the Chancellor on February 23, Dr. Sukarno Tanggol also expressed his happiness over the wins. An athlete himself, he assured the teams of a stronger support for badminton and other sports.

The men’s team is composed of Capilitan, Prof. Julius Benitez, Mr. Dale Cabe, Prof. John Paul Ben Silang, Prof. Arnel Zamayla, Prof. Randy Cagaanan, Prof. Art Brian Escabarte, Prof. Sotero Malayao Jr., Prof. Jude Positos, Mr. Andrew Bacala, and Prof. Nicolas Aborido Jr.

The women’s team is composed of its team captain Prof. Ellen Jarantilla-Castro, Ms.Leoneva Cawaling, Prof. Gemma Capuno, Ms. Febe Macasero, Ms. Joseth Pilar, Ms. Nenen Borinaga, Prof. Beverly Gemao, Prof. Diamer Capilitan, Prof. Rhea Febro, Prof. Rovie Gretchel Bucad, and this writer.

With the wins, the teams intend to keep a stronghold on the titles and be ready for the next IBCI tournament which will happen later this year, especially since other companies who have not participated have expressed interest to join.

“We [aim to] maintain our standing as champions and prepare players for the next tournament,” Capilitan said.

MSU-IIT wins IBCI Inter-Industry Badminton Tournament
MSU-IIT wins IBCI Inter-Industry Badminton Tournament
MSU-IIT wins IBCI Inter-Industry Badminton Tournament

Topics : sports  athletics  IBCI

Faculty & Staff to Play at MSU-Maigo Invitational

Faculty & Staff to Play at MSU-Maigo Invitational

A total of thirty-eight IIT personnel are heading to the MSU-Maigo School of Arts and Trades in the Municipality of Maigo in Lanao del Norte on March 31, 2014 to play at friendly games upon the invitation of President of the Maigo Sports Club.

The IIT delegation is composed of faculty and staff who will see action in the men’s lawn tennis, and the men and women’s volleyball competitions.

Topics : sports  athletics

Faculty & Staff to Play at MSU-Maigo Invitational

19 students off to MASTSAG

Nineteen students of MSU-IIT will see action at the Mindanao Association of State Tertiary School Athletic Games (MASTSAG) in Malaybalay, Bukidnon on March 3-7, 2014.

The 19 IIT students are part of the MSU delegation sent to the games that will be held inside the Bukidnon State University (BSU) campus.

The students are accompanied by their coaches, one of whom is Dr. Cesar T. Miguel who heads the athletic delegation.

Competing at the MASTSAG are the following students and their coaches:

Dance Sports

Wilson A. Bergonia
Christine Nicole D. Daligdig
Rindez C. Padayhag
Jeaneth Y. Yap
(Coach) Ms Rovie Gretchel P. Bucad

Basketball (Women)

Abbygale E. Apao
Jell W. Bascar
Vanessa B. Casia
Lliannah Justine O. Canalija
Rhia Kristina H. Gaite
Gay S. Malolot
Jahsie Jee T. Paez
(Coach) Mr. Davy Jone J. Deocampo

Lawn Tennis (Women)

Marjorie V. Alarva
May Kristine B. Deang
(Coach) Prof. Nicolas Aborido, Jr.

Badminton (Men)

Erald Christopher O. Abadinas
Kristal Dave L. Miasco
(Coach) Ms Alma A. Aborido

Badminton (Women)

Karen Jane B. David
Mary Elaine M. Ebona
(Coach) Ms Alma A. Aborido

Table Tennis (Women)

Anna Monica D. Bordado
Rence May P. Edullantes
(Coach) Dr. Cesar T. Miguel


Topics : sports  athletics