MSU-IIT debate varsity Wins their sixth regional trophy

MSU-IIT debate varsity Wins their sixth regional trophy

by Rohanimah B. Guro

Despite being the host of the 39th Mindanao Parliamentary Debate Championship on February 22-24 and as the defending champion of the said tournament, MSU-IIT Debate Varsity grabbed its sixth trophy from one of the most renowned debate tournaments in the Philippines – the Mindanao Parliamentary Debate Championship (MPDC).

MSU-IIT Team A defeated UP Mindanao Team A during the Grand Finals held at Mahogany Hills – Iligan City while debating on the motion: As progressive news media in an unjust post-truth world, this house would reject journalistic objectivity. IIT was in opposition and UP Min was in government bench.

This marked the last MPDC of two of our graduating students from the said team namely, Bai Djanemah Macabangkit (2nd Best Speaker) and Carlos Lukather Chavez (3rd Best Speaker). Joshua Jan D. Jumawid (6th Best Speaker), who was the third member of the team also earned his first trophy during this tournament.

Two more teams from MSU-IIT which consisted of Cheque Badelles (7th Best Speaker), Zoher Bantas, Rey Jeeve Tambole, and Zim Mojares reached the Quarterfinals while Reiji Limbaroc (MIDV Alumni) ranked 4th Best Competing Adjudicator along with Jhanaloden M. Dipantar as 5th Best Competing Adjudicator.

102 debaters from all over Mindanao participated in the competition. The five-member adjudication core consisted of Aries A. Paye (XU), Jazmin Tan Jabines (UP Diliman), Marina Lim  (DLSU), Rohanimah B. Guro (MSU-IIT), and Vanessa Kate F. Madrazo (ADDU) along with three-subsidized adjudicators; Patrich Lozano (DLSU), Tris Mapacpac (UPLB), and Wilson Lambiquit (WMSU).

Competition aside, the institution was also recognized for being an exemplary host. The Organizing Committee led by Asst. Prof. Helen R. Betonio, Alvin John B. Serenado, and Mark Ryan B. Garcia, partnered with YAPIS Inc. who assisted in the logistics of the tournament and’s founder, Mr. Weston Coleman Lee who developed the tabbr software designed to ensure the expediency and fairness of tournaments.

Topics : debate varsity  msuiit  MPDC  mindanao parlimentary debate