MSU-IIT wins 12th Visayas-Mindanao Debate Championship

MSU-IIT wins 12th Visayas-Mindanao Debate Championship

by Rohanimah B. Guro, OC

AFTER FIVE competitive elimination rounds and an exemplary run at the finals, the MSU-IIT Debate Varsity (MIDV) won the 12th Visayas-Mindanao Debate Championship (VMDC) held at the University of San Jose Recoletos in Cebu City. 

MSU-IIT Team A, composed of Joshua Jan Jumawid and Cheque Mae Badelles, beat 44 other teams (88 competing debaters) in the inter-regional tournament that was held on August 24-26, 2019.

The tournament was participated in by University of the Philippines – Tacloban, University of the Philippines – Visayas, Cebu Institute of Technology, Ateneo de Zamboanga University, University of San Jose Recoletos, Western Mindanao State University, and Xavier University teams. 

Cheque Mae Badelles was recognized as the Overall Tournament Best Speaker and Grand Finals Best Speaker while Joshua Jan Jumawid was recognized as 4th Best Speaker.

The adjudication core of the tournament was composed of Marina Lim (DLSU), Jazmin Tabines (UP Diliman), Tris Mapacpac (UP Los Banos), Dale Lota (WMSU), and Chad Ortiz (UP Visayas). 

MSU-IIT Team B, composed of Ben Aldwin Bance and Josh Branal, also made it to the Grand Finals of the tournament. 

For two teams from the same institution to reach the final round of the VMPDC is an achievement.

To recall, MIDV won the Mindanao Parliamentary Debate Championship (MPDC) last February. 

It is currently preparing to defend the win in the upcoming MPDC this September 20-22, 2019 in Surigao where they hope to finally bring home the roving trophy signifying a grand slam win.

MSU-IIT Psychology students bag National Inter-school Psychology Quiz Challenge Championship

MSU-IIT Psychology students bag National Inter-school Psychology Quiz Challenge Championship

by Jennifer Gay E. Carpio, CASS

MSU-IIT Psychology students bag National Inter-school Psychology Quiz   Challenge Championship

MSU-IIT students emerged victorious in the Inter-school Psychology Quiz Challenge in the recently concluded annual convention of the Psychological Association of the Philippines Junior Affiliates (PAPJA) held last January 22-23, 2016 at the SMX Convention Center, Mall of Asia and Far Eastern University.

The MSU-IIT team, coached by Ms. Jean S. Taypa, a faculty of the Psychology Department, is composed of I Marie Joy S. Gallemit, Roshe Ana Vina L. Openiano, Kathreena C. Lagura, (4th Year BS Psych students); and Micaella P. Magallanes, (3rd Year BS Psych student). The quiz bowl competition was participated by more than 50 universities and colleges from all over the country. A written elimination round narrowed the participants into ten schools to fight it out in the final round. Emerging as the clear winner with only two mistakes, MSU-IIT clinched the first place while last year’s champion, the University of Santo Tomas (UST) placed second followed by the Ateneo de Manila University (ADMU) rounding up the top three. MSU-IIT moved up the rankings from last year’s 4th place performance.

Another source of pride in this year’s PAPJA is the inclusion of an alumna, Miss Katherine D. Pantaleon, as one of only two plenary speakers of the conference. Miss Pantaleon, a B.S. Psychology graduate of the Institute, is now a registered psychologist and registered psychometrician currently affiliated with New Day Recovery Center in Davao City.

PAPJA, a highly anticipated yearly event for undergraduate psychology students nationwide, is committed to the development of future psychologists.