MSU-IIT wins Best Poster Award in 4th ERDT Congress

The MSU-IIT won the Best Poster Award for the Semiconductor Materials and Electronics R&D Track during the 4th Engineering Research and Development for Technology (ERDT) held at the SMX Convention Center, Mall of Asia, Pasay City on July 20, 2015.

The event was attended by faculty members and students of all graduate and post graduate programs of the College of Engineering.

The award-winning entry entitled “A Piezoelectric Energy Harvesting Interface Circuit using Negative Voltage Converter with Active Diode and DC-DC Converter” by Qadier I. Jilluh taking up his Master of Science in Electrical Engineering (Microelectronics) and thesis adviser Prof. Allenn C. Lowaton from the Microelectronics Lab (MicroLab) of the Electronics Engineering. The work of Jilluh and Lowaton bested thirteen (13) others entries from UP-Diliman, Ateneo de Manila University, De La Salle University and Mapua Institute of Technology.

A highlight of this event was the Poster Competition with entries from ERDT scholars around the country. MSU-IIT’s entries totaled six (6) research and development (R&D) tracks namely, Agriculture; Energy; Environment and Infrastructure; Information and Communications Technology; Manufacturing and Machinery; and Semiconductor Materials and Electronics.

This year’s congress theme “Agriculture and Science and Technology for Inclusive Growth”, recognizes the pressing concerns of the agricultural sector and the contributions that science and engineering can share with the community.

Plenary speakers were Philippine Council for Agriculture, Aquatic and Natural Resources Research and Development Acting Executive Director Reynaldo V. Ebora, Philippine Center for Postharvest Development and Mechanization Director Rex L. Bingabing, Mie University Professor Emeritus Makoto Hoki, and Phil-LiDAR 2 Program Leader Ariel C. Blanco.

The ERDT Congress is a yearly event where researchers, ERDT scholars, visiting professors, industry, government, and other experts gather and get inspired by plenary lectures of highly distinguished professors and experts all over the world. It is also a venue for the ERDT scholars to publish their academic works through a poster competition.

The ERDT is funded by the Philippine government through the Department of Science and Technology. It aims to create a critical mass of master’s and doctorate graduates in various displicines of engineering. ERDT is implemented through a consortium of eight universities in the Philippines with graduate programs in engineering.

The ERDT member universities are: UP-Diliman, UP-Los Banos, Ateneo de Manila University, De La Salle University, Mapua Institute of Technology, Central Luzon State University, the University of San Carlos and the MSU- Iligan Institute of Technology. –Contributed news

MSU-IIT wins Best Poster Award in 4th ERDT Congress

Topics : Engineering  ERDT  poster presentation