by Allenn C. Lowaton, College of Engineering

Manila, Philippines — MSU-IIT Dragons (Layang-Layang) and MSU-IIT Dagitab Dragons (Tarintik P-BE) – the two teams from MSU-IIT join the 2016 Shell Eco Marathon Asia (SEMA) held at the Quirino Grandstand, Manila on March 3-6, 2016.

The Team Layang-Layang which competed for the gasoline subcategory is comprised of Leonardo Nogas Jr., Vicente de los Santos II, Aldrei Zamm Recamadas, Frederick Irving Rico, Earl Taladua, Eric Taladua II, Mark Villanueva (Team Manager) and Dr. Eliseo Villanueva (Faculty Adviser).

The Team Dagitab which competed for the battery electric subcategory is comprised of Karl Martin Aldueso, Fer Mykiel Gonzales, Rhea Mae Gairanan, Darryl Dave Ditucalan, Apollo Clyde Gicum,Muhammad Khalifah Macadato, Kister Genesis Jimenez (Team Manager) and Dr. Jonathan Maglasang (Faculty Adviser).

“We will be stronger the next time”, said Prof. Kister Genesis Jimenez, a Computer Engineering faculty who is also the Dagitab’s Team Manager. Darryl Dave Ditucalan, a 5th year Electronics Engineering student and a member of Dagitab said “A lot of challenges were encountered”.

A total of 100 student teams from 17 different countries participate the event and the Philippines with twenty-eight teams has the largest contingent.

Shell Eco Marathon challenges the student participants to design, fabricate and drive the most energy efficient cars.

De La Salle University, Mapua Institute of Technology and University of San Carlos were winners in the said event. Other participating schools from the Philippines are Ateneo de Davao University, City of Bogo Science and Arts Academy, Far Eastern University Institute of Technology, Malayan Colleges Laguna, New Era University, Mindanao State University – Iligan Institute of Technology, National University, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila, Polytechnic University of the Philippines – Manila, Central Colleges of the Philippines, Don Bosco Technical College – Mandaluyong, Cebu Institute of Technology – University, University of Mindanao, University of the Philippines-Diliman, Technological Institute of the Philippines-Quezon City and Manila campuses, University of the East, and the University of Santo Tomas.

This has been the third time that the Shell Eco Marathon Asia took place in the Philippines. Singapore will host the next year’s SEMA.

Topics : SEMA  Shell Eco MArathon  Layang-layang  Dagitab  sustainability