by Denmichael Neil C. Estillore

Students from the MSU-IIT Junior Economics Society (JES) won the championship in the Junior Philippine Economics Society (JPES) Mindanao Eliminations in both the National Quiz Contest and National Debate Contest held at Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan on December 11, 2016.

Delegates Denmichael Neil C.Estillore and Noemie Kristine B. Mainar (Team A), and Dejim B. Edolsa and Amethyst Joy A. Galos (Team C), edged out 12 other teams to tie for the championship in the National Quiz Contest while delegates Natagnon John D. Romano and Jan Wendale L. Lota won the championship against 3 other teams in the National Debate Contest.

The competition featured students from MSU-IIT JES, Xavier University – Economics Society (ECOSOC), and Xavier University – Alliance of Business Economic Students (ABECS).

Other students who represented JES in the competition were Charlene M. Fernando and Janeruth S. Cabañas (Team B), Mary Flor E. Palomares and Doreen Keith M. Ocang (Team D), and Abigail P. Angco and RuhnJohnsan N. Sebial (Team E). MSU-IIT Team B was among the 5 teams that competed during the semi-final elimination. In addition, the rest of teams scored high during the eliminations.

Faculty members who coached and chaperoned the JES delegates were Prof. Lady Lou M. D’lonsod and Prof. Martha Joy J. Abing.

The efforts of the delegates, as well as the dedication and unwavering support of their mentors, were all worth it. Preparations are now underway for the JPES National Quiz and Debate Contest to be held in Manila next year. 

Topics : Department of Economics  JES  CBAA