by Irish Mae F. Dalona, CASS/OVCPD

THE MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology (MSU-IIT), in its persistent efforts to maintain excellence in its program offerings and practices, is submitting ten (10) academic programs – 6 undergraduate and 4 graduate – to the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP), Inc.

Dr. Sukarno D. Tanggol, Chancellor of MSU-IIT, considers the AACCUP as the University’s partner in its quest for maintaining quality in Philippine Higher Education Institutions (HEIs).

“We believe in the role that AACCUP plays in helping Philippine HEIs move forward,” the Chancellor adds as he welcomes the AACCUP team during the opening ceremony on October 21, 2019.

For this AACCUP visit, the undergraduate programs in Computer Science, Hospitality Management, Information Technology, Computer Applications, Information Systems, and the graduate programs in Education (Biology, Chemistry, Physics, General Science, Elementary and Secondary Mathematics), Physical Education, Business Administration, including the doctorate degree in Science Education (Chemistry) shall be subjected to Level 1 accreditation, while the BS in Nursing program is subjected to Level 3 re-accreditation.

The team of accreditors is headed by their overall coordinator Dr. Roque N. Langcoy II from Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology. He is accompanied by Prof. Carmela Urbano and Dr. Rande Dechavez from Sultan Kudarat State University; Dr. Denilin B. Avila from Cebu Technological University; Dr. Maria Theresa Yusico and Dr. Razil Gumanoy from Surigao del Sur State University; Dr. Cornelia Partosa and Dr. Beatriz Garcia from Bukidnon State University; Prof. Maria Corazon Tercera and Prof. Ronald Monzon from Caraga State University; Dr. Merason Empeynado and Prof. Raymund Lombres from Jose Rizal Memorial State University; Prof. Eugene Ranjo from University of Southern Mindanao; Dr. Musa Tagal and Prof. Shamer Mantawil from Cotabato Foundation College of Science and Technology.

 The accreditors will examine the compliance reports and evidences in all ten areas: Vision, Mission, Goals, and Objectives; Faculty, Curriculum and Instruction, Support to Students, Research, Extension and Community Involvement, Library, Physical Plant and Facilities, Laboratories, and Administration.

Assoc. Prof. Clowe Jondonero, Dean of the College of Nursing, wraps up the Opening Ceremony by affirming the need for external evaluators to tell whether the Institute is still on track of its deliverables in terms of instruction, research, and extension among others.

The week-long AACCUP accreditation will conclude with an Exit Conference on October 26, 2019.

Photos by: Jan Christian Pagarigan

Topics : program accreditation  AACCUP  academic excellence