Two computer science students of MSU-IIT are among the top 20 Grand Prize winners of the 2004 IBM Linux Scholars Challenge, a worldwide online competition. Jan Stevens B. Ancajas and Jose Gavine B. Cueto IV, both computer science students of the School of Computer Studies, submitted a summary of their BSCS thesis project on “dynamic DNS solution for a campus network” as their entry to the competition. This is the first time that an entry from the Philippines won in this prestigious Linux contest.

The MSU-IIT family extends their warmest congrats to Jan and Pe, and their thesis adviser, Mr. Dante D. Dinawanao who served as their coach.

Jan Stevens
             Ancajas and Jose Gavine Cueto IV
The authors of dynDNSter (L-R: Jan Stevens Ancajas and Jose Gavine Cueto IV) during their thesis project defense (11 Oct 2004). Photo by: Prof. RTGiganto.

Here is the complete list of the Top 20 Grand Prize Winners of the 2004 IBM Linux Scholars Challenge worldwide competition:

Y2004 IBM Linux Scholars Challenge Winners
Marly WilsonHollins UniversityUnited StatesAccessibility Enhancements
Yan YinZhejiang UniversityChinaOverlay Support for Intel PXA27x LCD Controller for Linux 2.6.9 kernel
Amit PuriDhirubhai Ambani Institute of Information and Communication Technology (DA-IICT)IndiaChange Kerberos to use GPG keys as a method to identify users
Eugeniy MeshcheryakovNational Taras Shevchenko University of KyivUkraineCheckpointing Linux
Bogdan LucaciuPolitechnical University of BucharestRomaniaProvide fail-over capability for multiple eServer machines
shravan singhVJTI,MUMBAIIndiaImprove boot time on a Linux Thinkpad
Zhu TaoNational University of SingaporeSingaporeMultimedia Processing
Qihua ZhuangShanghai Jiao Tong UniversityChinaSecurity Enhancement of Loadable Kernel Module
Michael ThompsonClarkson UniversityUnited StatesFile System Utility, Organization of Data
YunPeng GeFudan UniversityChinaWrite a converter for complex ipchains based firewall/routers to iptables
Li SiXi’an Jiaotong UniversityChinaEvaluate WebDav filesystem clients for Linux kernel
liu pengfeiSouth China University of TechnologyChinaChange Kerberos to use GPG keys as a method to identify users
James RoperAustralian National UniversityAustraliaImprove performance of large network file copy from server
Jan Stevens AncajasMSU-Iligan Institute of TechnologyPhilippinesdynamic DNS solution for a campus network
Jan WrobelAGH University of Science and Technology in CracowPolandOut of Kernel FileSystem
Atanas MatevTechnical University Sofia – Branch PlovdivBulgariaImplement Internationalized domain name (IDN) support for use over DNS
Xun SunShanghai Jiao Tong UniversityChinaImprove boot time on a Linux Thinkpad
Harsh JainIndian Institute of Technology, BombayIndiaAccessibility Enhancements
shiva kumarAnna UniversityIndiaOn-line help system to complement the HowTo’s and Man pages
cao xiaofengXi’an Jiaotong UniversityChinaImplement default address selection support based on RFC 3484


Mr. Cueto’s name was not included in the list because the contest’s online registration form only allows one participant to be registered per entry, but nonetheless he was part of the two-man team. In addition, the institution with the highest overall average of student participants was Anna University in the city of Madras, India, and will be awarded a 16-node Linux cluster. The Summer 2005 IBM Linux Technology Center Internships will soon be announced.

Topics : contest  open source  ibm linux scholars challenge  scs  computer science