by Jubelle May A. Sipalay

The College of Nusing held its 5th Annual Nursing Research Conference on March 19, 2014 at the College of Nursing Conference Hall, with the theme “Crossing Boundaries: Collaboration for Global Health,” hosted by the 2014 graduating batch, Les Desireux. Roselle Gay Villanueva, a fourth year Nursing student, was the overall chairperson of the research conference. Institute Chancellor, Dr. Sukarno Tanggol, also attended the event.

The research conference is held annually to provide a venue for graduating students to present their papers and to contribute to the development of global health.

Prof. Rudolf Cymorr Martinez, Associate Professor of the University of Santo Tomas College of Nursing, was the conference’s keynote speaker.

The research conference showcased 10 studies which were chosen as finalists out of 39 papers from different categories, namely, Health Service Delivery, Health Technology Development, Health Information System, Nursing Education, and Health Impacting Society, Culture, and Environment. Theses from other guest schools were also presented.

The top three undergraduate studies from the finalists, which were awarded after the presentation, include “Evaluation of Wound Healing Effects of Ointments Formulated with Plant Leaf Extracts of Carica papaya, Cymbopogan citratus, & Psidium guavaja on Excisional Wounds in Albino Rats” authored by Delvin Edwards A. Marquez; “Anti-Mitotic Activity of Guyabano (Annona muricata) Leaf Extract Using Allium cepa Test” by Raymund A. Apolinario, Paul Louie F. Gomez, Stacey Marianne A. Principe, and Lea Lynn R. Sialana; and “Cymbopogan citratus: An Alternative Hypertension Therapy” by Coniefe Maae G. Gamayao, Vanessa Marie M. Habajab, Flori Lane C. Paler, and Celeste B. Saladaga.

CON holds 5th Annual Nursing Research Conference

The CON reseachers together with the chairperson of the panel of judges Prof. Rudolf Cymorr Martinez from University of Sto. Tomas, Manila

CON holds 5th Annual Nursing Research Conference

Mr. Delvin Marquez awarded as best research paper for batch 2014 together with the research coordinator Prof. Gloria Shiela Coyoca, his research adviser Prof. John Paul Ben T. Silang, and CON dean Prof. Clowe D. Jondonero

Topics : health science  nursing  conference