The Region 12 Office of the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) called on the assessment and evaluation of the Information Technology Education (ITE) in a meeting with the Higher Education Institutions (HEI) in the region.

The meeting held August 5, 2011 at the Lyceum de Cagayan University in Cagayan de Oro City convened the heads of the HEI’s in Region 12 which offer IT education.

The MSU-IIT delegation was headed by the School of Computer Studies (SCS) Dean Ernesto Empig and Assistant Dean Alquine Roy Taculin. Also attending were the different chairpersons of the SCS: Orven Llantos (Computer Science), Lomesindo Caparida (Information Technology), and Rolando Galucan (Electronics Engineering Technology), and Manuel Cabido, head of the IT Curriculum Committee.

The meeting elected a new set of officers for PSITE-X and CODE-IT@R10 for Academic Year 2011-2012. For the PSITE-X, the officers are: President, Manuel C. Cabido (MSU-IIT), Vice President, Andrew P. Ponte (Liceo University), Secretary, Julius L. Soriano (Mountain View College), Treasurer, Jay Noel N. Rojo (Mindanao University of Science and Technology), Auditor, Julius B. Baldelovar (Christ the King College), PRO, Lomesindo T. Caparida (MSU-IIT), and Members of the Board of Directors, Sales G. Aribe, Jr. (ACLC College, Bukidnon Campus), Orven E. Llantos (MSU-IIT), and Lizah T. Kuizon (Misamis University).

The CODE-IT@R10 Officers are: President, Geraldine D. Durias (Misamis University), Vice President, Ernesto E. Empig (MSU-IIT), Secretary, Alecia C. Diaz (Iligan Medical Center College), Treasurer, Cyril Jane C. Ranido (Capitol University), and Auditor, Gideon R. delos Reyes, Jr. (Mountain View College).

Immediately after the elections, the officers were inducted by Dr. Juanito Demetrio and Mr. Desiderio Apag III of CHED Region 12.

Topics : infotech  ched