“I am humbled and challenged to be a better public servant,” so said the Institute’s Chancellor Dr. Sukarno D. Tanggol as soon as he received word of his award: the 2013 UP Alumni Association (UPAA) Distinguished Award in Peace and Social Cohesion. The awards ceremony is set on June 22, 2013 at the UP Theater.

Tanggol is given the award in recognition for his “leadership achievements and contributions” that has especially benefited the general community. He was elected Chancellor of the MSU-IIT by the MSU Board of Regents in 2012.

He took his Doctor of Public Administration at the UP in Diliman. In 1999-2002 he served as Philippine Ambassador to the State of Kuwait. Aside from his papers read or published in the country and abroad, he is the author of two books: Muslim Autonomy in the Philippines: Rhetoric and Reality and Regional Autonomy and Federalism: Concepts and Issues for the Bangsamoro Government.

The awards of UPAA’s outstanding alumni and the recognition of Jubilarians (Class 1953, 1963, 1973, and 1968) and Multi-Generation Families are in celebration of the UP Centennial this year as posted in the UP website.

The website announced “a bumper crop of awardees” that totaled 71 awards to be given to 46 individuals. Among these are the Lifetime Achievement Awards to individuals who have distinguished themselves in science and technology, business and finance, law, mathematics, medicine and in the arts; the Distinguished Alumni Awards; 2 UPAA chapters and 21 families “for their achievements in the interest of the university, the country, and humanity”.

Among the awardees for Lifetime Achievement Awards are Dr. Rhodora V. Azanza (seaweeds and microalgal biology), Prof. Benjamin H. Cervantes (theater), Dr. Nora J. Cruz-Quebral (development communication), Dr. Isodoro P. David (statistics) and, Edgardo B. Espiritu (banking).

(OC-OPI News Release)

Topics : awards  chancellor