by OPI

By Gabriel Billones Jr.

The MSU-IIT Debate Varsity (MIDV), to develop debating on campus, hosted the 1st Chancellor’s Cup last March 10-11, 2012.

Five colleges participated in two categories: the Freshmen Cup and the Open Cup.

The College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) represented by Den Carlo Estenzo, Marjorie Dalugdugan, and Karl Sapio won in the Open Category. Best Speaker was June Edgar Asok of the College of Sciences and Mathematics (CSM) Team A winning ahead of Mark Jeznel Pantaleon at 2nd, and Xaiza Aniban and Kathrina Gumahad, both tied at 3rd.

The College of Business Administration and Accountancy (CBAA) team of Doveydel Palanas, Mae Ann Dio, and Sandra Lyne Luis won In the Freshmen Category. Dio won as Best Speaker followed by her teammates.

Lawrence Uy from the College of Education (CED) won the Best Tournament Adjudicator award. Vincent Paul Fontanoza and Aldrin Merino were ranked at 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

The Chancellor’s Cup provided the opportunity for IIT students to engage in intellectual discourses and improve their public speaking skills. The event also discovered potential talents who will continue the MIDV’s contributions of bringing local and national awards to the Institute.

Topics : debate