by Maria Theresa B. Panzo

Honoring achievements, service, and the excellence of the faculty, staff, and students were the highlights as MSU-IIT turned a year older last July 12.

Fifty faculty members and 63 administrative staff were recognized for their service and loyalty to the Institute. Of these awardees, three have served the Institute for 40 years. Twenty three retirees also received tributes and the Gintong Ani awards.

Special citations were awarded to faculty and students who presented papers in international and national conventions, published works in ISI journals, or authored textbooks in specialized fields.

The College of Science and Mathematics (CSM) received Plaques of Achievement for being Commission on Higher Education (CHEd) Centers of Excellence in Biology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics and for its Tuklas Lunas Center.

Likewise, the College of Education (CED) received recognition for being CHEd Center of Excellence in Teacher Education, for acquiring a Level 3 AACCUP Accreditation for its BSED and BSIED Programs, and for achieving the third top post nationwide as a Performing School for Licensure Examination for Teachers (Elementary Level) in September 2011.

The College of Business Administration and Accountancy (CBAA) was also cited for achieving a Level 2 Accreditation by the AACCUP in the college’s BS Accountancy and BSBA Programs.

Three more colleges were acknowledged with citations: the College of Arts and Sciences (CASS) for its Level 3 AACCUP Accredited programs in BS Psychology and the Social Sciences; the College of Nursing (CoN) for its No. 9 ranking in the Nursing Licensure Examination last September 1, 2011 among universities with 50 or more examinees; and, the College of Engineering (COE) for its Electrical Engineering Program which ranked second among universities with 15 or more examinees in the Registered Electrical Engineering Licensure Examination last April 2012, and its Civil Engineering Department as National Champion during the 2011 14th National Building Competition.

Four posthumous plaques of recognition were awarded to members of the faculty and staff.

The program featured performances from three of the Institute’s resident performing groups: the Kalimulan Cultural Dance Troupe, Octava Choral Society, and the Integrated Performing Arts Guild (IPAG).

Topics : charter anniversary