by Bianca Rae S. Fabricante, CSM

From left to right: Mr. Vernie C. Convicto and Mr. Abdurajan B. Lintasan holding their certificates of recognition.

TWO PhD Physics Students, Mr. Vernie C. Convicto and Mr. Abdurajan B. Lintasan, bagged Best Presenter awards in the recently concluded 17th South-East Asia Congress of Medical Physics (SEACOMP) held last August 8 -10, 2019 at Bintang Bali Resort, Bali Indonesia. As awardees, they received a cash prize of PhP 3,500.

Mr. Convicto won Best Oral Presenter for his paper entitled “Monte Carlo Study of Nuclear Fragmentation in Water Irradiated with Protons and 12C Ions for Particle Therapy Application” while Mr. Lintasan won Best Poster Presenter for his paper entitled “Kinetic Energy of Secondary Fragments of Carbon-12 at Varying Incident Energies in Different Biological Media – A Monte Carlo Study”.

Both papers are products of the research initiatives of the Mindanao Radiation Physics Center (MRPC) and the Physics Department of the Institute under the supervision of Dr. Catherine Therese J. Quiñones and the head of MRPC, Dr. Angelina M. Bacala

Left to right: The MSU-IIT delegates in the 17th SEACOMP – Mr. Vernie C. Convicto, Dr. Angelina M. Bacala, Ms. Dainna Recel S. Pamisa, and Mr. Abdurajan B. Lintasan.

Other attendees in the conference from MSU-IIT are Dr. Angelina M. Bacala and Ms. Dainna Recel S. Pamisa.  

The 17th SEACOMP, which had the theme “Improvement of Patient Care and Safety through the innovation in Medical Physics” this year, was held in conjunction with the 3rd Annual Scientific Meeting on Medical Physics and Biophysics (PIT-FMB). This congress boasts of a comprehensive scientific programme including plenary talks, and oral and poster presentations in the different disciplines in medical physics, nuclear medicine, radiotherapy, radiation protection, radiobiology, and new emerging techniques. Selected papers presented in the congress will be published in the IOP Journal of Physics Conference Series (