The Office of Publication & Information (OPI), the Department of English of the College of Arts & Social Sciences (CASS) funded by the OPI and the National Commission for Culture & Arts (NCCA) released the names of 15 writing fellows during the 21st Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held on May 26-31, 2014.

The OPI and the Department of English will likewise hold the Second Mindanao Writers & Teachers Summit on May 23-24, 2014 at the CASSalida Theatre (see separate news release).

The 15 Iligan workshop fellows, the literary genres, geographic area and schools are: LUZON- Poetry (English): Lawdenmarc Y. Decamora/San Fernando, Pampanga/De La Salle University; (Filipino): Rommel V. Roxas/Manila/University of Santo Tomas; (Bicol): Allan Popa/Quezon City/UP Diliman; Short Story (Filipino): Seymour B. Sanchez/Pasay City/UP Diliman; and Creative Non-Fiction (English): Nastasia Mikhaila L. Tysmans/ Quezon City/Ateneo de Manila University.

VISAYAS- Short Story (Sebuano): The Gumercindo Rafanan Writing Fellow -Manuel M. Avenido, Jr./Cebu City/ Cebu Normal University; (Waray) Boy Abunda Writing Fellow -Jeremy Alexandre O. Evardone/Palapag, Northern Samar/University of Eastern Philippines; (Hiligaynon) Early Sol A. Gadong/Iloilo City/ UP Visayas in Iloilo; Excerpt of Novel (English) Le-an Lai Lacaba/Tacloban City/UP College Tacloban; and, POETRY (Waray) Ela Mae G. Salazar/Basey, Samar/ Leyte Normal University.

MINDANAO- Short Story (English)- Maria Karlene Shawn I. Cabaraban/Cagayan de Oro City/ Xavier University; Edmond Julian Y. De La Cerna/Davao City/ UP Mindanao; (Filipino) Karen Y. Ramos/Iligan City/MSU-IIT; and, POETRY (English) Amado C. Guinto, Jr./ Iligan City/MSU-IIT.

This year, the keynote speaker is the Sebuano poet, translator and critic Dr. Hope Sabanpan Yu, Director of the Cebuano Studies Center of the University of San Carlos (USC).  The panelists this year are:  John Iremil Teodoro, Merlie M. Alunan, Macario D. Tiu, Victorio N. Sugbo, Ralph Semino Galan, the Director of the New York Creative Writing Workshop, Tim Tomlinson and the resident panelists, Steve Fernandez, German Gervacio and the workshop Director, Christine Godinez Ortega.

Another highlight this year will be the launching of the 20th INWW Proceedings with last year’s keynote lecturer Jose Y. Dalisay, Jr. It is published by MSU-IIT OVCRE and edited by Godinez-Ortega.  

(for OC-OPI)

Topics : Iligan National Writers Workshop