The Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research & Extension’s (OVCRE) Department of Research named the winners of the 11th MSU-IIT Annual In-House Review of Research & Development (R&D) Projects held on June 27-28, 2013 at the MSU-IIT MiniTheatre.

Apart from receiving plaques or certificates for their researches and posters, the eleven winners also received cash incentives in the various categories: research, development, poster presentations and for special citations.

For the undergraduate level, the first prize is P2,500.00; second prize is P2,000.00; and third prize is P1,000.00. The Graduate and the Professional levels receive P5,500.00 for first prize; second prize is P4,000.00, and for third prize is P3,000.00.

The In-House Review evaluators were from the Mindanao State University’s main campus and from the MSU Naawan campus. This year’s winners are:

Research Category:

Gender, Culture, Peace and Development and Education Cluster

Undergraduate Level:
Best Paper – “Reported Cases of Violence Against Women and Their Children in Iligan City” by Ma. Josefina Sanchez, Michael Lapasaran, Elaine M. Baulete.

Graduate/Professional Level:
1st – “The GPH-MILF Peace Process in the Philippines: The Need to Engage the Youth in Track 11 and People-to-People Peace Building Measures” by Mark Anthony J. Torres and Juvanni A. Caballero;
2nd – “Lexico-statistical Relationship of Tausug and Higaunon Languages” by Rosario B. Dizon, Darwisa A. Baguio, Lorna E. Flores;
3rd – “Development and Evaluation of a Self-learning Kit on Polygons” by Helen A. Aya and Myrna E. Lahoylahoy; and,
3rd – “The Use of Mother Tongue-based Language (MTBL) in the Team-assisted Individualized Remediation (TAIR) on Least Learned Competencies in Elementary Mathematics” by Lucia V. Maminta, Leila V. Bernaldez, Virginia A. Sombilon, Josie Vic D. Mendez

Environment, Biodiversity, Behavioral and Health Cluster
Undergraduate Level:
1st – “Microorganisms on Surface Culture of Injection Port of IV Sets and Its Implication to Infection Control” by Jessa Mae O. Yuson, Verna Sharmaine A. Ardiente, Loida Jane R. Beniga, Dennie Kate Pasco, Gloria Shiela E. Coyoca, Mark Anthony I. Jose, Vincent G. Tabil, Bernie A. Casera;
2nd – “Species Richness of Odonata in Lanuza and San Agustin, Surigao del Sur, Philippines” by Samuel Jie C. Quisil, Jazzie D’Zeim E. Arreza, Olga M. Nuñeza, Reagan Joseph T. Villanueva; and,
3rd – “Dengue-prone Barangays in Iligan City: Forecasting for Year 2014 and Risk Maps Using Google Earth” by Lorenzo Miguel P. Abijay, Joash Emmanuel B. Jao, Jason King L. Padrones, John Paul Ben T. Silang, Gloria Shiela E. Coyoca, Khandy Lorraine B. Guerrero.

Graduate/Professional Level:
1st – “Pesticides in Agriculture: Effects and Impacts in the Kabalangasan River Aquatic Ecosystem” by Roselyn V. Arellano; 2nd – “Predicting the Suicidality of College Students at MSU-IIT from Personality Inventories and Demographic Data” by Cora E. Lim, Odessa May Escalona and Fermina Salazar; 2nd – “The Rapid Impact Assessment of Disaster on Sources of Livelihood and Employment Opportunities (Post Typhoon Sendong Conditions in Iligan City); and 3rd – “Changing Urban Landscapes: The Case of Cagayan de Oro Old City Core” by Noel Cornel Alegre.

Physics and Chemistry Cluster

Special Citations:
“Morphological Infrared and reflectance Characteristics of Thermally-treated ZnO-SiO2 Nanocomposite Powders” by Rolando T. Candidato, Jr., Joycee Jean J. Lador, Ryan B. Balili; and,
“Characterization of Nanostructured Zinc Oxide (ZnO)-based Ethanol Gas Sensor” by Jess E. Gambe, Katherine M. Emphasis and Arnold C. Alguno.

Development Category
1st – “Investor Profiles and Mutual Fund Choices: The Case of International Marketing” by Jerecho Placido and Adrian P. Galido;
2nd – “Pagtambayayong sa Paglambo sa Tibanga” by Juanito Pola, Nimfa L. Bracamonte and Rebecca Alcuizar; and,
3rd – “Hands-on Training on Recycling of Plastics, Foil Wrappers and Used Clothing” by May A. Cañedo.

Poster Paper Category
1st – “Assessing Students’ Collaboration and problem Solving Skills in a Group Activity” by Rizalyn C. Silagan, Jannie Grace C. Ates, Jun Karren V. Caparoso and Joy R. Magsayo;
2nd – “Conceptual Understanding on Biotechnology Among BUUD Science and Health Students: A Basis for Curriculum Integration” by Monera Salic-Hairulla and Fema M. Abamo; and,
3rd – “Development and Evaluation of Microlesson in Teaching Human Activities That Disrupt the Ecosystem Among Grade Six Pupils” by Christine Melody Q. Maramara, Eunice Paquingan, Joy R. Magsayo and Monera Salic-Hairulla. (OC-OPI News Release)

Topics : research  ovcre